Life Outside My Cube

My life, a work in progress.

Here I am

I’m stuck in a working rut of ginormous proportions.

Don’t get me wrong, I do appreciate having a job in this economy, and a good one.  I work with great talented people and have a great boss and I do cool stuff with software that most people have never heard of. My salary is decent, I have flexible hours, get paid for overtime, and have 4 weeks vacation. I have a great wife and two wonderful kids, great neighbors and a good-size handful of great friends. What’s not to like about this?

Well, I just turned 49 this year. I’m around $40,000 in debt, living in a $200/month condo in exchange for association maintenance, my ’95 Le Sabre threw a rod last week, and my other car is a 1985 Tempo. I have no savings, and pretty much live a-to-paycheck because of our debt obligations.

The E-Myth Revisited

Ok, so I’ve made some bad choices in the past, a long story (short version: 7-year attempt at entrepreneurship, mostly in denial that I’m a technician, not an entrepreneur (see sidebar), along with some not-so-good spending habits). So I’m not complaining – my financial situation is entirely deserved, and we’re working our way out of it without bankruptcy or skipping out on our debts. I’m just setting up the situation to introduce myself. I’ll be in a better position in 3-4 years.

The real issue is my work life. I’ve been writing software for 26 years, and would love to do something different in the way of “work”. Completely different. Raising chickens. Making movies. Running a non-profit. Doing community development. Construction. Teaching.  Writing books. I’m supremely tired of the “9-5”, being a slave to someone else’s goals and ambitions. I may be good at what I do, but it’s not how I want to change the world.

My wife, after seeing Julie & Julia says if I want to write, I need to start writing. Lots of writing, like in a blog. Maybe enough people will get interested in me, my story, or my mission, and we’ll get rich in the process of accomplishing something.

Right.

My life is supremely bland right now.

So I’m probably going to bore you to death. But maybe in the process of learning to write, and getting my life back, you will be encouraged.

So here goes.

Leave a Reply

