Life Outside My Cube

My life, a work in progress.

Quirk #113

quirkThere’s probably a word for it, or a named psychological aberration, but I believe I have a problem finishing things.

I was sitting on a park bench this noon, thinking about how tired I was of working on the similar project stuff, and how amazed I was at some people at my company who’ve been doing the same thing – literally – for over 15 years. I cannot imagine. I have only been here a hair over 3 years, and there’s most always a tangible horizon to look over.

I’ve been doing the same thing, more or less, for about a year now, and it’s getting old. Quite old. I would love to make a complete career change, but have no idea what it would be. First thing I thought of was some kind of work involving connecting community people together. I seem to be good at talking with complete strangers. But then, I though, I have difficulty with more mature relationships.

I often get all excited about a particular book, but will shelve it after some time due to lack of interest and never finish it. I often start projects, but lose interest after a time. I tire of living in the same place after 4-5 years. All the while other people plow through books, complete projects and live in the same place for 30 years.

So what’s this malady called? I have a bad case of it.

2 responses to “Quirk #113

  1. J October 28, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Maybe looking for variety in our lives through different foods, clothes, music, friends and even jobs is a way of entertaining ourselves. Perhaps we need more stimulation from things that make us think, books and music and hobbies, etc., outside of our “regular” work. Maybe your regular work cannot possibly provide all the meaning in your life, despite the many hours you have to spend at it. Perhaps the void that you feel is a void that only God can fill. Maybe you like variety for variety’s sake, a sort of adult ADHD, and you need to learn to be content with what you have. But MAYBE, by being made in the image of God you need more mental, physical, emotional and spiritual stimulation than your 8-5 work provides for you. The problem isn’t necessarily with you.

    And who are the “other” people you’re referring to in your second to the last sentence? Are they just an illusion?

  2. dad October 29, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Yes, J, I think you’re right – I need more mental, physical, emotional and spiritual stimulation outside of the workplace. I tend to want to veg out in the evenings, which is probably compounding the problem. I will have to think on that.

    And these “other” people? I can name several right off the top of my head – they’re not an illusion. They have their own sets of quirks, I’m sure, but I’d like to acquire the best habits of each one.

Leave a Reply

