Life Outside My Cube

My life, a work in progress.

Um, Stimulating

Yesterday was pretty horrible, work-wise. In sharp contrast to the previous post, I was busy from the moment I sat down at my desk at 6:05 until I left at 4:10, working primarily on 1 issue all day. It’s difficult to explain the thing I’m working on, but it involves massaging of incoming data files, generating new data based on other data, building outgoing data files, and doing detailed database reporting. My boss, I and a co-worker worked ¬†together on this pretty complex problem yesterday for perhaps 3-4 hours, and I alone for most of the rest of the time. By the end of the day I had a blistering headache, and no more than 5 minutes before I left, my co-worker discovered what appeared to be a huge problem with the code we’d been working on all day.

I was not a happy camper.

This morning, things appear to be a bit brighter; the huge problem wasn’t really that huge, there’s a clear path to resolution, and the client isn’t on our backs. So now I’m on the downhill part of that roller-coaster.

But I think I’m getting too old for amusement park rides. :-)

One response to “Um, Stimulating

  1. springberrie October 29, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Oh, Steve, I am so sorry. You navigated our dinner with Pieps with amazing cheerfulness. I am praying for God’s favor and strength to rest on you today.

    But let all those rejoice who put their trust in You;
    Let them ever shout for joy, because You defend them;
    Let those who love Your name be joyful in You.
    For You, O LORD, will bless the righteous;
    With favor You will surround him as with a shield.
    Psalm 5:11-12

Leave a Reply

