Life Outside My Cube

My life, a work in progress.

Junebug

The beginning of a new month, and almost summer. It certainly feels like summer, with temps in the mid-to-upper 80’s. I still feel lethargic, what with the heat and  the lack of urgent work. Volleyball last night was a good escape for a while.

As promised, I got everyone going on dynamic stretching before we started playing. It was fairly well received, but I only had everyone do a few; my mind went blank trying to remember all of the ones we did at the volleyball camp. So here’s a compiled list of all I can remember:

  1. Jog
  2. Sprint
  3. Lunge walk
  4. Lateral lunge walk
  5. Butt kicks
  6. Walking quad stretch (pull back to butt)
  7. Straight-leg deadlift walk
  8. Forward hand walk
  9. Groin stretch walk
  10. Alternate toe touches
  11. Left and right shuffle
  12. Left and right crossover
  13. Leg huggers
  14. High knees jog
  15. High kick toe-touch
  16. Heel-to-toe touch ground
  17. Jumping jacks
I also reinforced the perimeter defense in all the teams I played with, and introduced No Mercy at the end, which was more of  a fun thing than anything else; it wasn’t clear that everyone knew positions well enough for it to be a good drill.
Anyhow, we’ll see how it all works out in the coming weeks. Perhaps if I added one thing each week, it wouldn’t be too overwhelming.
Leave a Reply

